| |
List of All Available Resources
Academic
OneFile (Gale)
Academic
OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles
from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive
coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences,
the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile
is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles
available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers
are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text
coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily. Audience:
college |
Academic
Search Elite (EBSCO)
Full
text and images from over 2,100 journals covering biology, chemistry,
engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, etc. Audience:
college, general public |
Alabama Libraries
Online
catalogs of many Alabama libraries with a common search screen. Audience:
middle school through college, general public |
AlabamaMosaic
AlabamaMosaic (Alabama's
Digitization Project) is
a work in progress. A number of collections are available for browsing
and searching.
More collections
will be added in the near future.
The purpose of AlabamaMosaic is to make unique historical treasures from Alabama's
archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories electronically accessible
to Alabama residents as well as scholars throughout the world.
Audience:
high school through college, general public |
Alt
HealthWatch (EBSCO)
Alt
HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of
subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. It
offers libraries an immediate resource of full text articles, from
140 international, and often peer-reviewed, journals, reports, proceedings
and association & consumer newsletters. In addition, there are
hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research
and book excerpts. Audience: college, general public |
Auto
Repair Reference Center (EBSCO)
Auto
Repair Reference Center includes automotive repair information supplied
by Nichols Publishing, the former publisher of the Chilton information.
It contains information on most major manufacturers of domestic and
imported vehicles, with repair information for most vintage makes
starting as far back as 1954. Database content includes approximately
25,000 vehicles covered from 1954 to present; over 100,000 factory
drawings and step-by-step photographs; over 65,000 technical service
bulletins & recalls issued by the original equipment vehicle manufacturer;
wiring diagrams for easy viewing and printing; specifications &
maintenance schedules; Labor Time Guide & Estimator; and Quick
Tips, a complete guide to vehicle ownership & maintenance. New
repair procedures and updates will also be added continuously. Audience:
high school, college, general public |
Book Collection:
Nonfiction (EBSCO)
A rich
research database for public libraries, it contains informative abstracts
and full text for more than 2,000 popular nonfiction books. The database
includes full text entries on social studies and science, as well
as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, and technology.
Audience: middle through college, general public |
Britannica
Learning Zone (Britannica)
An interactive atlas, online
art activities, interactive games and learning materials, audio
and video, and vocabulary builders teach concepts that children
are curious about, such as geography, numbers, colors, time, and
sounds. Audience: elementary |
Britannica
Online Academic Edition (Britannica) Britannica
Online has been thoroughly updated with new content and a
more user-friendly interface that specifically addresses the needs
of college and university libraries. Now called Britannica Online
Academic Edition, the site includes new content such as World Data
Analyst, Gateway to the Classics, and our collection of Notable
Quotations as well as new functionality including advanced search
capabilities and the Britannica Workspace, a research organizer. Audience:
college |
Britannica
Online Public Library Edition (Britannica)
Britannica Online Public Library
Edition includes two unique home pages -- one for children and another
for adults -- that will serve an entire library community with a
single product. Britannica Online Public Library Edition contains
4 full encyclopedias, the Encyclopædia Britannica, Compton’s
by Britannica, Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia, and Britannica
Concise Encyclopedia each covering the research needs of a different
age group. Along with this encyclopedia content, Public Library
Edition contains full-text magazine articles, Web sites that have
been reviewed and verified by Britannica editors, a homework help
section for students, a world atlas, Merriam-Webster dictionaries
and thesauri for children and adults, a Spanish-English dictionary,
video and audio content, daily content updates, and more. Audience:
general public |
Britannica
Online School Edition (Britannica)
Britannica
Online School Edition
gives teachers and students instant access to four complete encyclopedias
that ensure consistency with classroom topics and age-appropriate
language. This unique database also offers student-friendly website
recommendations, current magazine and journal articles, the Merriam-Webster’s
Collegiate and Student Dictionaries and Thesauri (with audio pronunciations),
a world atlas, plus high-quality online learning materials that are
developed by teachers and curriculum experts. Designed for all levels
of learning, Britannica Online School Edition offers students a gateway
to the vast resources of Encyclopædia Britannica, with encyclopedia
articles and Learning Materials correlated to the Alabama State Standards!
Audience: K-12 |
Business
and Company Resource Center (Gale)
Business and Company Resource Center integrates detailed company and
industry news by bringing together articles from periodicals, company
profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company
histories, and chronologies. Audience: high school, college, general
public |
Business
Index ASAP (Gale)
Full text articles and images from academic and business journals.
Provides information on management issues, economic indicators and
business theories and practices, as well as on the activities of companies
and industries worldwide. Audience: high school, college, general
public |
Business
Source Premier (EBSCO)
Full
text articles and images from nearly 7,600 periodicals and other
sources covering business, marketing, management, MIS, POM, economics,
finance, banking, accounting, and much more. Datamonitor Company
Profiles are also available. Audience: high school, college, general
public |
Contemporary
Authors (Literature
Resources from Gale)
Complete biographical and bibliographical information and references
on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors. Audience: middle
school through college, general public |
Contemporary Literary
Criticism (Literature
Resources from Gale)
An extensive
collection of critical essays on contemporary authors. Each entry
contains a biographical/critical introduction, listing of principal
works and sources for further study. Audience: high school through
college, general public |
Current Events (SIRS Discoverer)
The top national and global headline news stories are dynamically
updated and delivered hourly to cover the breaking news of the day.
Audience: middle school through college, general public |
Dictionary
of Literary Biography (Literature
Resources from Gale)
Provides nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives,
works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures
from all eras and genres. Audience: middle school through college,
general public |
EBSCO
Search (EBSCO)
Menu of full text databases provided by EBSCO. Databases can be searched
individually or (by marking the selection boxes) can be searched simultaneously
in related groups. Audience: middle school through college, general
public |
Encyclopedia
of Animals (EBSCO)
An encyclopedia of animals with in-depth information on a variety
of topics relating to animals, including the nature and habitat of
familiar animals. Audience: All |
Encyclopedia
Of Literature (Literature
Resources from Gale)
Contains entries for authors, works, literary landmarks, literary
and critical terms, mythological and folkloric figures, fictional
characters, literary movements and prizes, and other miscellaneous
matters. Audience: high school through college, general public |
ERIC
(EBSCO)
ERIC, the U.S. Department of Education Educational Resource Information
Center database, contains citations and abstracts from over 980 educational
and education-related journals, as well as full text of more than
2,200 digests. Audience: college, teachers, general public |
Essays
(LitFinder - Gale) Essays
is unique database of full-text essays and discursive writing. The
essays focus on the humanities and social sciences, and include biographies
and literary criticism. Subjects include literature, history, economics,
sociology, art and architecture, philosophy, psychology, science and
drama. Audience:
high school through college, general public |
Ethnic
NewsWatch (Proquest)
Ethnic NewsWatch™ (ENW)
features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority
press, providing researchers
access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. With titles dating
from 1990, ENW presents a comprehensive, full-text collection of
more than 1.8 million articles from more than 315 publications offering
both national and regional coverage. While the content may mirror
mainstream media coverage, the viewpoints are decidedly unique. Ethnic
NewsWatch delivers hundreds of important ethnic press publications.
The voices of the Asian-American, Jewish, African-American, Native-American,
Arab-American, Eastern-European, and multi-ethnic communities can
be heard. Titles include Kurdish Life, Asian Week, Jewish
Exponent,
Seminole Tribune, Appalachian Heritage, The
Boston Irish Reporter,
Chinese America, The Filipino Express, Hmong
Times, and many more.
A majority of this content is exclusive to ENW and not available
in any other database. Audience:
high school through college, general public |
Expanded
Academic ASAP (Gale)
Supports general reference needs of advanced high school and college
undergraduate students. Indexes 2,600 journals with full text articles
from 1,400 titles in academic disciplines including the arts, humanities,
social sciences, and science and technology. The database indexes
national news periodicals, general interest magazines, newswires,
and the New York Times. Audience: high school through college, general
public |
Funk & Wagnalls
New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO)
General
encyclopedia for K-12 students includes full text articles; its 25,000
encyclopedic entries are searchable by subject or keywords. Audience:
middle school through college, general public |
Gale
PowerSearch (Gale)
Allows
a user to search Gale's Professional Collection, General OneFile,
Student Edition, LegalTrac,
Expanded Academic ASAP, General Reference Center Gold, Gale Virtual
Reference Library, and Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center at the same time. Audience:
middle school through college, general public |
Gale
Virtual Reference Library (Gale)
A database
of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary
research. These reference
materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can
access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each
library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may
vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school,
your public library, or your office). Audience:
middle school through college, general public |
General
Reference Center Gold (Gale)
General interest database offering a single search interface to find
articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals, many with
full-text and images. Audience: middle school through college, general
public |
GreenFILE (EBSCO)
GreenFILE
offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human
impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government
and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental
effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments,
and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Multidisciplinary
by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment
and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law,
health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change,
green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy,
recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts
for approximately 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text
for more than 4,700 records.
Audience:
high school through college, general public |
Health
Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO)
Consumer
health information on health topics including the medical sciences,
food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general
health. It indexes and abstracts over 180 general and professional
health journals and features full text articles for nearly 165 journals,
Stedman's Medical Dictionary, twenty health reference books, and over
1,000 pamphlets published by health-related associations. Information
provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis
or a substitute for professional medical advise, diagnosis or treatment.
Audience: high school through college, general public |
Health
Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)
Health
Source: Nursing/Academic Edition indexes and abstracts over 560 scholarly
journals and includes full text articles for over 520 journals focusing
on medical disciplines, especially nursing and allied health topics.
Audience: college, medical professionals, general public |
History
Reference Center (EBSCO)
History Reference Center features cover-to-cover full text for more
than 650 historical encyclopedias and other non-fiction books. The
database also includes full text for nearly 60 leading history periodicals;
58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures;
more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical
film and video. Audience: high school through college, general public
|
Image
Collection via MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO)
An
Image Collection of 276,132 photos, maps & flags. Audience:
general public |
Informe
(Gale)
Full text for 50 general interest Spanish-language and bilingual periodicals
and El Neuvo Herald (Miami). Users must formulate queries in Spanish
because indexing and thesaurus terms on based on Spanish terms. Audience:
All |
(InfoTrac) General
OneFile (Gale)
A 'mega-content' database indexing over 6,000 periodicals, newspapers,
and newswires with backfile coverage from 1980 to present, updated
daily. The database includes full text articles for 3,000 periodicals,
89 wire services and business press releases. OneFile offers single
source searching for news and periodical articles on a wide range
of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education,
environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature
and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and
many general interest topics. Audience: middle school through college,
general public |
(InfoTrac)
Student Edition (Gale)
Designed to help students complete school assignments and find general
information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture,
health, people, government, history, sports and more. The database
offers full text articles from 325 magazines, newspapers, and reference
books most often selected by libraries for this age group. Audience:
middle through high school |
Kids
InfoBits (Gale)
Kids InfoBits features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic
interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate,
curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information
on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government,
history, sports and more. Audience: elementary school |
Kids Search(EBSCO)
This
new interface is designed to offer elementary school students an
easy-to-use and graphically appealing search experience, including
improved functionality over Searchasaurus and Primary Search. It
features better relevancy ranking, topic searching and access to
a wide variety
of
source types.
The Basic Search screen highlights Topics rather than Source Types,
and includes the ability to search Images or Images/Videos, from
the toolbar. Audience: elementary school |
LegalTrac
(Gale)
Indexes 875 titles, many with full text articles, including all major
law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals,
and legal newspapers. Law-related Legal journals are selected using
criteria developed by the American Association of Law Libraries. Additional
full text articles are included from over 1,000 business and general
interest titles. Audience: legal professionals, college, general public |
Library,
Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCO)
Library,
Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes
more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings.
Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging,
bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management
and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the
mid-1960s. Audience: media specialists, college, general public |
Literature
Resources from Gale (Gale)
Literature Resources from Gale is a search environment, designed
specifically for literature research, that searches several Gale
Literature databases (Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary
Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography, LitFinder, Merriam
Webster Encyclopedia of Literature, Scribner Writer's Series, and
Twayne's Authors) at the same time. Audience: high school through
college, general public |
LitFinder
(Literature
Resources from Gale)
LitFinder is a clearinghouse for poetry, short stories, essays, plays,
and speeches since 1976. Audience: middle school through college,
general public |
MasterFILE
Premier (EBSCO)
Supports the general reference questions of public library users,
this database indexes 2,780 journals, the New York Times, and the
Wall Street Journal with full text for over 1,840 journals, including
Consumer Reports and Business Week nearly 5,000 Magill's Book Reviews,
and Essential Documents in American History-over 1,000 original historical
documents. Audience: general public |
MedlinePlus (U.
S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of
Health)
MedlinePlus
has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health
and other trusted sources on over 650 diseases and conditions. There
are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia
and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive
information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information
from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials. MedlinePlus
is updated daily. Audience: general public |
Military
& Government Collection (EBSCO)
Military
& Government Collection provides full text from over 330 military
and general interest publications. Designed to bring current news
to all branches of the military. This database also offers indexing
and abstracts for over 370 magazines. Some titles included are Military
Review, Parameters, Army Times, and Defense. This database is updated
weekly on EBSCOhost. Audience: military personnel, general public |
Newspaper
Source (EBSCO)
Newspaper Source provides selected full text for over 200 regional
U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns
and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers.
This database is updated daily. Audience: middle school through college,
general public |
Opposing
Viewpoints Resource Center (Gale)
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center draws on the acclaimed social
issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference
content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide
a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access
viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents,
links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Audience: high school through college, general public |
Oxford
English Dictionary (Oxford University Press)
The Oxford
English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the
English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide
to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million
words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through
2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English
language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals
to film scripts and cookery books.
The OED covers words from across the English-speaking
world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New
Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological
analysis and in listing of variant spellings, and it shows pronunciation
using the International Phonetic Alphabet. Audience:
high
school through college, general public |
Oxford
Reference Online Premium (Oxford University Press)
Oxford Reference
Online Premium brings together language and subject reference works
from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single
cross-searchable resource.The Core Collection contains over 100
dictionary,
language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford
University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database
of these books, giving subscribers unprecedented access to a comprehensive
information resource.The Premium Collection offers all of the above,
plus added functionality and more detailed information across a broad
subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions
Series, to enhance the coverage already provided by the award-winning
Core Collection.
Audience: high
school through college, general public (title
list) |
Plays
(Literature
Resources from Gale)
Contains over 1,000 complete plays covering the range of dramatic
expression, including one-act plays, puppet plays, Harlinquinades,
tragedies, gothic, children's, religious, romantic, historical, and
comedic plays. Audience: high school through college, general public
|
Poems
(Literature
Resources from Gale)
Comprises the most rounded, inclusive anthology of world poetry ever
developed. Full representation is provided for significant periods
such as Early English, Middle English, Elizabethan, Romantic, Victorian,
20th Century War Poetry and Modernism. Audience: middle school through
college, general public |
Professional
Collection (Education) (Gale)
Thomson
Gale Professional Collection Online is a custom selection of more
than 300 full-text journals for educators and is updated daily. It
covers Arts and Humanities, Child and Adolescent Psychology and Development,
Drug and Alcohol Abuse, Health/Nutrition/Fitness, Learning Disabilities,
Literature, School Law, Science and Technology, Social Sciences,
and Sport/Athletic Training.
Audience: teachers, college, general
public |
Professional
Development Collection (EBSCO)
Professional
educators can search over 530 professional education journals and
periodicals and locate the full text of articles from 440 titles and
images from 150 titles. The collection offers information on everything
from children's health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical
theory and practice. Audience: teachers, college, general public |
|
PubMed
(National Library of Medicine)
PubMed,
a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to
over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional
life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing
full text articles and other related resources. Audience: medical
professionals, high school through college, general public |
Regional
Business News (EBSCO)
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional
business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage
of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan
and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated
on a daily basis. Audience: high school through college, general public |
Scribner
Writers Series (Literature
Resources from Gale)
The Scribner Writers Series includes 1,564 essays on authors of all
nationalities and time periods. Many authors are seen from multiple
perspectives in two, three, or even four essays--a broad biocritical
overview as well as specialized treatments. Each essay includes a
concise introductory preface and a biography placing the author's
work within a personal and historical framework. Audience: K-12, general
public |
Searchasaurus(EBSCO)
Searchasaurus
is an exciting and easy way for young researchers to experience online
searching. It is an animated interface with a dinosaur theme that
encourages students to enhance and develop basic search methodologies.
Students will be riveted by the colorful, animated interface, complete
with erupting volcanoes and a dinosaur guide, as they gather information
on a wide range of topics. Searchasaurus offers Lexile limiters (reading
level), making it easy for students to read and research only appropriately
challenging materials. Audience: elementary school |
Serials
Solutions (Serials Solutions) Serials
Solutions provides a reference tool to determine which full-text electronic
serials are available through the AVL licensed databases. Use Serials
Solutions to reduce search time when looking for a specific electronic
journal and to find and use AVL resources that may be overlooked.
Serials Solutions will help you to know what electronic journals are
available in the AVL databases. Audience: middle school through college,
general public |
SIRS
Discoverer (SIRS)
Selective, interactive reference tool of full text articles, many
with images, from 1,100 magazines for young readers. Discoverer helps
students develop their research, writing, language, and computer
skills. Site resources include Spotlight
of the Month topics, The World Almanac for Kids, Merriam-Webster's
Dictionary and Thesaurus and the Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia.
Audience: elementary through middle school |
SIRS
Spotlight of the Month (SIRS Discoverer)
Selected articles from the SIRS Researcher database to encourage research
and awareness of each month's highlighted topic. Audience: middle
school through college, general public |
Speeches
(Literature
Resources from Gale)
Contains speeches which represent the finest examples of recorded
oratory from antiquity to moderntimes. Audience: high school through
college, general public |
Stories
(Literature
Resources from Gale)
Rich anthology of short stories, providing thousands of full-text
short stories plus explanations, biographies, pictures and more. The
database is updated constantly with classic and contemporary stories.
Audience: high school through college, general public |
Student
Research Center (EBSCO)
Provides
students with the most appropriate research tools for easily obaining
the information that they need from their EBSCO databases. Users
can easily pre-determine which content sources (e.g., Magazines,
Newspapers, Biographies, Country Reports, Film & Video) will
be included with their search. They can also search their databases
by topic heading, make use of an online dictionary and encyclopedia,
explore the
top searches of the day, and even limit their search according to appropriate
Lexile reading levels. Audience: middle and high school |
Twayne's
Authors Series (Literature
Resources from Gale)
These series offer literary criticism and in-depth introductions to
the lives and works, history and influence of literary movements,
and the development of literary genres. The electronic publications
contain the full text of lengthy articles for 600 authors, 200 each
for individual World, US, or English authors. The series supports
literary interpretation from high school through college. Audience:
high school through college, general public |
Vocational
and Career Collection (EBSCO)
Supports
vocational and technical courses of study with information from industry
and trade-related journals, reviews and newspapers. The database indexes
over 510 titles with full text of articles from over 160 titles and
nearly 5,000 Magill's Book Reviews. Audience: middle school through
college, general public |
World
Almanac for Kids (SIRS Discoverer)
Easy-to-use reference database complements SIRS Discoverer articles
by providing facts and information on a variety of topics including
people, countries, animals, the environment and history. Maps and
other related graphics are also available. Audience: elementary through
middle school, general public |
WorldCat
Search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. Audience: college |
|