Alabama 
Virtual Library: Connecting You to a World of Knowledge  












 

Science Resources

Full text and images from over 2,100 journals covering biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, etc.  Audience: college, general public Academic Search Elite A 'mega-content' database indexing over 6,000 periodicals, newspapers, and newswires with backfile coverage from 1980 to present, updated daily. The database includes full text articles for 3,000 periodicals, 89 wire services and business press releases. OneFile offers single source searching for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Audience: middle school through college, general public  (InfoTrac) General OneFile  
Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. It offers libraries an immediate resource of full text articles, from 140 international, and often peer-reviewed, journals, reports, proceedings and association & consumer newsletters. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Audience: college, general public Alt HealthWatch Designed to help students complete school assignments and find general information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more. The database offers full text articles from 325 magazines, newspapers, and reference books most often selected by libraries for this age group. Audience: middle through high school  (InfoTrac) Student Edition  
Menu of full text databases provided by EBSCO. Databases can be searched individually or (by marking the selection boxes) can be searched simultaneously in related groups. Audience: middle school through college, general public  EBSCO Search Kids InfoBits features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports, and more. Audience: elementary school  Kids InfoBits    
An encyclopedia of animals with in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals, including the nature and habitat of familiar animals. Audience: All  Encyclopedia of Animals (now part of Kids Search & Searchasaurus)   This new interface is designed to offer elementary school students an easy-to-use and graphically appealing search experience, including improved functionality over Searchasaurus and Primary Search. It features better relevancy ranking, topic searching and access to a wide variety of source types. The Basic Search screen highlights Topics rather than Source Types, and includes the ability to search Images or Images/Videos, from the toolbar. Audience: elementary school  Kids Search    
Supports general reference needs of advanced high school and college undergraduate students. Indexes 2,600 journals with full text articles from 1,400 titles in academic disciplines including the arts, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology. The database indexes national news periodicals, general interest magazines, newswires, and the New York Times. Audience: high school through college, general public  Expanded Academic ASAP   Supports the general reference questions of public library users, this database indexes 2,780 journals, the New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal with full text for over 1,950 journals, including Consumer Reports and Business Week nearly 5,000 Magill's Book Reviews, and Essential Documents in American History-over 1,000 original historical documents. Audience: general public  MasterFILE Premier  
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office). Audience: middle school through college, general public  Gale Virtual Reference Library   Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Audience: high school through college, general public Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center  
General interest database offering a single search interface to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals, many with full-text and images. Audience: middle school through college, general public  General Reference Center Gold     PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. Audience: medical professionals, high school through college, general public  PubMed  
Consumer health information on health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. It indexes and abstracts over 205 general and professional health journals and features full text articles for nearly 190 journals, Stedman's Medical Dictionary, twenty health reference books, and over 1,000 pamphlets published by health-related associations. Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advise, diagnosis or treatment. Audience: high school through college, general public   Health Source: Consumer Edition   Selective, interactive reference tool of full text articles, many with images, from 1,100 magazines for young readers. Discoverer helps students develop their research, writing, language, and computer skills. Site resources include Spotlight of the Month topics, The World Almanac for Kids, Merriam-Webster's Dictionary and Thesaurus and the Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia. Audience: elementary through middle school  SIRS Discoverer  
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition indexes and abstracts over 850 scholarly journals and includes full text articles for over 600 journals focusing on medical disciplines, especially nursing and allied health topics. Audience: college, medical professionals, general public   Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition   Provides students with the most appropriate research tools for easily obaining the information that they need from their EBSCO databases.  Users can easily pre-determine which content sources (e.g., Magazines, Newspapers, Biographies, Country Reports, Film & Video) will be included with their search.  They can also search their databases by topic heading, make use of an online dictionary and encyclopedia, explore the top searches of the day, and even limit their search according to appropriate Lexile reading levels. Audience: middle and high school  Student Research Center
Full text for 50 general interest Spanish-language and bilingual periodicals and El Neuvo Herald (Miami). Users must formulate queries in Spanish because indexing and thesaurus terms on based on Spanish terms. Audience: All   Informe (Spanish)    
Contact Us
Last Updated September 30, 2009