Alabama 
Virtual Library: Connecting You to a World of Knowledge  












 

Education Resources

Full text and images from over 2,100 journals covering biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, etc.  Audience: college, general public Academic Search Elite This new interface is designed to offer elementary school students an easy-to-use and graphically appealing search experience, including improved functionality over Searchasaurus and Primary Search. It features better relevancy ranking, topic searching and access to a wide variety of source types. The Basic Search screen highlights Topics rather than Source Types, and includes the ability to search Images or Images/Videos, from the toolbar. Audience: elementary school  Kids Search  
Auto Repair Reference Center includes automotive repair information supplied by Nichols Publishing, the former publisher of the Chilton information. It contains information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1954. Database content includes approximately 25,000 vehicles covered from 1954 to present; over 100,000 factory drawings and step-by-step photographs; over 65,000 technical service bulletins & recalls issued by the original equipment vehicle manufacturer; wiring diagrams for easy viewing and printing; specifications & maintenance schedules; Labor Time Guide & Estimator; and Quick Tips, a complete guide to vehicle ownership & maintenance. New repair procedures and updates will also be added continuously. Audience: high school, college, general public Auto Repair Reference Center   Literature Resources from Gale is a search environment, designed specifically for literature research, that searches several Gale Literature databases (Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography, LitFinder, Merriam Webster Encyclopedia of Literature, Scribner Writer's Series, and Twayne's Authors) at the same time. Audience: high school through college, general public  Literature Resources from Gale       
Britannica Online has been thoroughly updated with new content and a more user-friendly interface that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries. Now called Britannica Online Academic Edition, the site includes new content such as World Data Analyst, Gateway to the Classics, and our collection of Notable Quotations as well as new functionality including advanced search capabilities and the Britannica Workspace, a research organizer.  Audience: college Britannica Online Academic Edition   Supports the general reference questions of public library users, this database indexes 2,780 journals, the New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal with full text for over 1,950 journals, including Consumer Reports and Business Week nearly 5,000 Magill's Book Reviews, and Essential Documents in American History-over 1,000 original historical documents. Audience: general public  MasterFILE Premier  
Britannica Online School Edition gives teachers and students instant access to four complete encyclopedias that ensure consistency with classroom topics and age-appropriate language. This unique database also offers student-friendly website recommendations, current magazine and journal articles, the Merriam-Webster<92>s Collegiate and Student Dictionaries and Thesauri (with audio pronunciations), a world atlas, plus high-quality online learning materials that are developed by teachers and curriculum experts. Designed for all levels of learning, Britannica Online School Edition offers students a gateway to the vast resources of Encyclopædia Britannica, with encyclopediaarticles and Learning Materials correlated to the Alabama State Standards!  Audience: K-12 Britannica Online School Edition   Newspaper Source provides selected full text for 180 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers. This database is updated daily. Audience: middle school through college, general public  Newspaper Source  
Menu of full text databases provided by EBSCO. Databases can be searched individually or (by marking the selection boxes) can be searched simultaneously in related groups. Audience: middle school through college, general public  EBSCO Search Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Audience: high school through college, general public Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center  
An encyclopedia of animals with in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals, including the nature and habitat of familiar animals. Audience: All  Encyclopedia of Animals (now part of Kids Search & Searchasaurus) The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis and in listing of variant spellings, and it shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet. Audience: high school through college, general public Oxford English Dictionary  
ERIC, the U.S. Department of Education Educational Resource Information Center database, contains citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals, as well as full text of more than 2,200 digests. Audience: college, teachers, general public  ERIC   Oxford Reference Online Premium brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.The Core Collection contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books, giving subscribers unprecedented access to a comprehensive information resource.The Premium Collection offers all of the above, plus added functionality and more detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series, to enhance the coverage already provided by the award-winning Core Collection.  Audience: high school through college, general public Oxford Reference Online Premium  
Supports general reference needs of advanced high school and college undergraduate students. Indexes 2,600 journals with full text articles from 1,400 titles in academic disciplines including the arts, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology. The database indexes national news periodicals, general interest magazines, newswires, and the New York Times. Audience: high school through college, general public  Expanded Academic ASAP   Thomson Gale Professional Collection Online is a custom selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators and is updated daily.  It covers Arts and Humanities, Child and Adolescent Psychology and Development, Drug and Alcohol Abuse, Health/Nutrition/Fitness, Learning Disabilities, Literature, School Law, Science and Technology, Social Sciences, and Sport/Athletic Training. Audience: teachers, college, general public  Professional Collection (Education)    
History Reference Center features cover-to-cover full text for more than 650 historical encyclopedias and other non-fiction books. The database also includes full text for nearly 60 leading history periodicals; 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video. Audience: high school through college, general public History Reference Center   Professional educators can search over 530 professional education journals and periodicals and locate the full text of articles nearly 500 titles and images from 150 titles. The collection offers information on everything from children's health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice. Audience: teachers, college, general public  Professional Development Collection
Full text for 50 general interest Spanish-language and bilingual periodicals and El Neuvo Herald (Miami). Users must formulate queries in Spanish because indexing and thesaurus terms on based on Spanish terms. Audience: All   Informe (Spanish)   Selective, interactive reference tool of full text articles, many with images, from 1,100 magazines for young readers. Discoverer helps students develop their research, writing, language, and computer skills. Site resources include Spotlight of the Month topics, The World Almanac for Kids, Merriam-Webster's Dictionary and Thesaurus and the Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia. Audience: elementary through middle school  SIRS Discoverer  
A 'mega-content' database indexing over 6,000 periodicals, newspapers, and newswires with backfile coverage from 1980 to present, updated daily. The database includes full text articles for 3,000 periodicals, 89 wire services and business press releases. OneFile offers single source searching for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Audience: middle school through college, general public  (InfoTrac) General OneFile Provides students with the most appropriate research tools for easily obaining the information that they need from their EBSCO databases.  Users can easily pre-determine which content sources (e.g., Magazines, Newspapers, Biographies, Country Reports, Film & Video) will be included with their search.  They can also search their databases by topic heading, make use of an online dictionary and encyclopedia, explore the top searches of the day, and even limit their search according to appropriate Lexile reading levels. Audience: middle and high school  Student Research Center     
Designed to help students complete school assignments and find general information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more. The database offers full text articles from 325 magazines, newspapers, and reference books most often selected by libraries for this age group. Audience: middle through high school  (InfoTrac) Student Edition Supports vocational and technical courses of study with information from industry and trade-related journals, reviews and newspapers. The database indexes over 510 titles with full text of articles from over 400 titles and nearly 5,000 Magill's Book Reviews. Audience: middle school through college, general public  Vocational and Career Collection    
Kids InfoBits features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports, and more. Audience: elementary school  Kids InfoBits  

Contact Us
Last Updated on September 30, 2009