About the AVL

All about the Alabama Virtual Library

About the AVL - Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Full text and images from over 4,600 journals (more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles) covering biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, and religion & theology. Audience: college, general public
Alabama Libraries
Online catalogs of many Alabama libraries with a common search screen. Audience: middle school through college, general public
AlabamaMosaic (Alabama's Digitization Project) is a work in progress. A number of collections are available for browsing and searching. More collections will be added in the near future. The purpose of AlabamaMosaic is to make unique historical treasures from Alabama's archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories electronically accessible to Alabama residents as well as scholars throughout the world. Audience: high school through college, general public
Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO)
Alt HealthWatch focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Audience: college, general public
Artemis Literary Sources (Gale)
Users will be able to cross-search Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism, Twayne’s Authors, and Scribner Writers. Audience: high school through college, general public
Book Collection: Nonfiction (EBSCO)
Book Collection: Nonfiction is a rich research database for school and public libraries. A cross-curricular database, it provides content representing a wide spectrum of works. It contains informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 4,100 popular nonfiction books. The database includes full text entries on core subject areas, as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, and life skills. Audience: middle through college, general public
Britannica Learning Zone (Britannica)
An interactive atlas, online art activities, interactive games and learning materials, audio and video, and vocabulary builders teach concepts that children are curious about, such as geography, numbers, colors, time, and sounds. Audience: elementary
Britannica Academic (Britannica)
Britannica Academic delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The rich combination of the insightful Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough research. Audience: college
Britannica Library (Britannica)
Britannica Library gives your library three sites in one: Children, Young Adults, and the Reference Center for older students and adults. Patrons can choose the age-appropriate level that works best for them, and will find it easy to conduct research, complete homework assignments, and work on special projects. Start with one of three encyclopedias. Move on to current magazines, thousands of up-to-date, curated, articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, and recommended Web sites. Instantly define words with Merriam-Webster’s pop-up Dictionary and Thesaurus. Audience: general public
Britannica School (Britannica)
Britannica School offers thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended Web sites, and three separate encyclopedias. Choose from three user-friendly learning entry points — Elementary, Middle, and High School —for a wealth of unique content to explore. Nonfiction, cross-curricular content in Britannica School is updated daily by our 100+-member editorial team with new and revised articles and multimedia — at least 1,200 pieces of content per month — to keep users informed and engaged. Audience: K-12
Business Collection (Gale)
Provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications. Audience: high school, college, general public
Business Insights: Essentials (Gale)
Business Insights: Essentials integrates detailed company and industry news by bringing together articles from periodicals, company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, and chronologies. Audience: high school, college, general public
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Full text articles and images from nearly 2,300 periodicals and other sources covering business, marketing, management, MIS, POM, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and much more. Datamonitor Company Profiles are also available. Audience: high school, college, general public
Career Library (EBSCO)
Career Library is a tool that allows users to explore college and career interests, plan for college or the workforce, and build resumes. It also contains an activity center that provides interactive quizzes, standardized test questions, and a GED sample test. Audience: middle school through college, general public
Contemporary Authors (Artemis Literary Sources - Gale)
Complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors. Audience: middle school through college, general public
Contemporary Literary Criticism (Artemis Literary Sources - Gale)
An extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary authors. Each entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, listing of principal works and sources for further study. Audience: high school through college, general public
Current Events (SIRS Discoverer)
The top national and global headline news stories are dynamically updated and delivered hourly to cover the breaking news of the day. Audience: middle school through college, general public
Dictionary of Literary Biography (Artemis Literary Sources - Gale)
Provides nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Audience: middle school through college, general public
Menu of full text databases provided by EBSCO. Databases can be searched individually or (by marking the selection boxes) can be searched simultaneously in related groups. Audience: middle school through college, general public
ERIC, the U.S. Department of Education Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. It contains more than 1.3 million records. Audience: college, teachers, general public
Ethnic NewsWatch (Proquest)
Ethnic NewsWatch™ (ENW) features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. With titles dating from 1970, ENW presents a comprehensive, full-text collection of more than 1.8 million articles from more than 315 publications offering both national and regional coverage. While the content may mirror mainstream media coverage, the viewpoints are decidedly unique. Ethnic NewsWatch delivers hundreds of important ethnic press publications. The voices of the Asian-American, Jewish, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European, and multi-ethnic communities can be heard. Titles include Kurdish Life, Asian Week, Jewish Exponent, Seminole Tribune, Appalachian Heritage, The Boston Irish Reporter, Chinese America, The Filipino Express, Hmong Times, and many more.   Audience: high school through college, general public
Explora (EBSCO)
Engaging interface for schools and public libraries. Provides students with easy-to-use features and age-appropriate content from the world’s leading magazines and reference books. Audience: elementary school through high school
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO)
General encyclopedia for K-12 students includes full text articles; its 25,000 encyclopedic entries are searchable by subject or keywords. Audience: middle school through college, general public
Gale PowerSearch (Gale)
Allows a user to search Gale's General OneFile, Student Edition, General Reference Center Gold, Gale Virtual Reference Library, and Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center at the same time. Audience: middle school through college, general public
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale)
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office). Audience: middle school through college, general public
General Reference Center Gold (Gale)
General interest database offering a single search interface to find the latest content covering current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more. Audience: middle school through college, general public
GreenFILE offers well-researched information. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records. Audience: high school through college, general public
Health InfoNet of Alabama
Health InfoNet of Alabama is a free, award-winning consumer health information service of the Alabama public and medical libraries. This website is designed as a service for online users and a gateway to quality information resources. If you don't find what you're looking for here, please call your local public library and ask for Health InfoNet assistance. Audience: high school through college, general public
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO)
Consumer health information on health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. It provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines. Audience: high school through college, general public
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Audience: college, medical professionals, general public
History Reference Center (EBSCO)
History Reference Center features cover-to-cover full text for more than 650 historical encyclopedias and other non-fiction books. The database also includes full text for nearly 60 leading history periodicals; 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video. Audience: high school through college, general public
Image Collection via MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO)
MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. Audience: general public
Informe (Gale)
Provides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines. The database offers a wide range of content both from and about Latin America. Audience: All
(InfoTrac) General OneFile (Gale)
A 'mega-content' database indexing over 6,000 periodicals, newspapers, and newswires with backfile coverage from 1980 to present, updated daily. The database includes full text articles for 3,000 periodicals, 89 wire services and business press releases. OneFile offers single source searching for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Audience: middle school through college, general public
(InfoTrac) Student Edition (Gale)
Designed to help students complete school assignments and find general information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more. The database offers full text articles from 325 magazines, newspapers, and reference books most often selected by libraries for this age group. Audience: middle through high school
Kids InfoBits (Gale)
Kids InfoBits features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more. Audience: elementary school
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCO)
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. Audience: media specialists, college, general public
LitFinder (Artemis Literary Sources - Gale)
LitFinder is a clearinghouse for poetry, short stories, essays, plays, and speeches since 1976. Audience: middle school through college, general public
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO)
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest. It also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. Audience: general public
MedlinePlus (U. S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health)
MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 650 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials. MedlinePlus is updated daily. Audience: general public
Military & Government Collection (EBSCO)
Military & Government Collection provides full text for nearly 300 military and general interest publications. Designed to bring current news to all branches of the military. Audience: military personnel, general public
Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 US & international newspapers. It also contains selected full text for 389 regional U.S. newspapers. Full text TV & radio news transcripts are also provided. Audience: middle school through college, general public
Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale)
Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, OVRC features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. Audience: high school through college, general public
Oxford English Dictionary (Oxford University Press)
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis and in listing of variant spellings, and it shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet. Audience: high school through college, general public
Oxford Reference Online (Oxford University Press)
Oxford Reference Online Premium brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.The Core Collection contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books, giving subscribers unprecedented access to a comprehensive information resource.The Premium Collection offers all of the above, plus added functionality and more detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series, to enhance the coverage already provided by the award-winning Core Collection. Audience: high school through college, general public (title list)
Oxford Scholarship Online (Oxford University Press)
Oxford Reference Online offers full-text access to 89 academic monographs in Business & Management, Mathematics, Public Health & Epidemiology, and Social Work. Audience: high school through college, general public (title list)
Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO)
Provides students and schools with a series of controversial essays and presents multiple sides of the issue. Audience: high school through college, general public
Professional Development Collection (EBSCO)
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. It also contains more than 200 educational reports. Audience: teachers, college, general public

PubMed (National Library of Medicine)
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. Audience: medical professionals, high school through college, general public

Regional Business News (EBSCO)
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis. Audience: high school through college, general public
Research in Context (Gale)
Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history. Audience: middle school, high school
Scribner Writers Series (Artemis Literary Sources - Gale)
The Scribner Writers Series includes 1,564 essays on authors of all nationalities and time periods. Many authors are seen from multiple perspectives in two, three, or even four essays--a broad biocritical overview as well as specialized treatments. Each essay includes a concise introductory preface and a biography placing the author's work within a personal and historical framework. Audience: K-12, general public
Serials Solutions (Serials Solutions)
Serials Solutions provides a reference tool to determine which full-text electronic serials are available through the AVL licensed databases. It reduces search time when looking for a specific electronic journal. Serials Solutions will help you to know what electronic journals are available in the AVL databases. Audience: middle school through college, general public
SIRS Discoverer (SIRS)
Selective, interactive reference tool of full text articles, many with images, from 1,100 magazines for young readers. Discoverer helps students develop their research, writing, language, and computer skills. Site resources include Spotlight of the Month topics, The World Almanac for Kids, Merriam-Webster's Dictionary and Thesaurus and the Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia. Audience: elementary through middle school
Twayne's Authors Series (Artemis Literary Sources - Gale)
These series offer literary criticism and in-depth introductions to the lives and works, history and influence of literary movements, and the development of literary genres. The electronic publications contain the full text of lengthy articles for 600 authors, 200 each for individual World, US, or English authors. The series supports literary interpretation from high school through college. Audience: high school through college, general public
Vocational and Career Collection (EBSCO)
Vocational & Career Collection is designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and public libraries. The collection provides full text coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry related periodicals including American Machinist, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Reeves Journal, Hotel and Motel Management, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more. Audience: middle school through college, general public
World Almanac for Kids (SIRS Discoverer)
Easy-to-use reference database complements SIRS Discoverer articles by providing facts and information on a variety of topics including people, countries, animals, the environment and history. Maps and other related graphics are also available. Audience: elementary through middle school, general public
Search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. Audience: college
World Data Analyst (Britannica)
This powerful yet easy-to-use online tool lets students analyze countries at a glance. World Data Analyst offers detailed statistical comparisons of countries around the world, using both the most recent statistics and historical figures. Plus, students can create tables, charts, and even export the information to a spreadsheet for printing and data crunching. Students can also link to country articles from the Britannica Concise Encyclopedia. It all leads to better understanding of our ever-changing world. Audience: middle school and above

You are IP authenticated!
ZIP Code:

Your location is inside the state of
Alabama so you are automatically
logged in to use the AVL

What's this?

You are not IP authenticated. Please login
using your AVL Card username and password.

If you do not have an AVL Card, please request
one at your local public library or your local
public school library if you are a student.


What's this?
You are logged in with your
AVL username and password.

You are located on the campus of an
Alabama public school or library so
you are automatically logged in
to use the AVL.

Connect with AVL

  Join AVL on Facebook!


  Email the Helpdesk!

  Subscribe to AVL

  (256) 971-7487
  (800) 276-0370